Let’s go east!

After our sabbatical in 2016, which took us around Europe, and a few years of sailing in the Thyrennian Sea we know the beautiful islands of Elba, Corse and Sardinia like our back pocket. In 2020 we want to throw off our lines again. The east is calling us, more specifically the Middle East: We would like to spend advent of 2020 in Israel. To be honest, Europe does not end on Elba. In this sense, we will finish our “Round Europe” of 2016 as a part of our route.

In April 2020 we want to set sail from Elba southward. We would very much like to explore Sicily and southern Italy, which we hardly know so far. Via Corfu and the Ionian Sea we will tour the Aegean Sea and Northern Greece, as well as the Northern Greek Islands during the summer. For that we have planned a lot of time so that we can stay where we like and, for example, visit the Athos monasteries.

As the days get shorter the course should be staked to the southeast. Over the Cyclades and – if necessary – the Turkish south coast we will be heading to to Israel. This country has been fascinating us for a long time. We’re looking forward to the vibrant life in Tel Aviv and the multicultural Jerusalem. Even though we can not cruise the Galilee Sea or the Dead Sea with our “Amazing Grace”, excursions by bus, rental car and our on-board bikes are certainly exciting enough.

However, an old controller wisdom says: „Whether the plan is well done, it will certainly tolerate changes”. We probably won’t be an exception to this rule. We will keep you updated …

Let’s go east!

Nach unserem Sabbatical „Rund Europa“ in 2016 und ein paar Jahren im Thyrennischen Meer, kennen wir die wunderschönen Inseln Elba, Korsika und Sardinien inzwischen wie unsere Westentasche. 2020 wollen wir die Leinen wieder loswerfen. Es zieht uns nach Osten, genauer gesagt in den mittleren Osten: Den Advent 2020 würden wir gerne in Israel verbringen. Ehrlich gesagt hört Europa ja auch nicht auf Elba auf. So gesehen werden wir auf einem Teil unserer Route unser „Rund Europa“ von 2016 vollenden.

Im April 2020 soll es von Elba Richtung Süden losgehen. Wir würden sehr gerne Sizilien und Süditalien erkunden, wo wir bisher kaum unterwegs waren. Über Korfu und das Ionische Meer segeln wir in die Ägäis und nach Nordgriechenland sowie zu den nordgriechischen Inseln, wo wir den Sommer rumschippern. Dafür haben wir viel Zeit eingeplant, damit wir dort bleiben können, wo es uns gefällt und auch, z.B. die Athosklöster anschauen können.

Wenn die Tage kürzer werden, soll der Kurs nach Südosten abgesteckt werden. Über die Kykladen und ggfs die türkische Südküste planen wir uns nach Israel zu hangeln. Dieses Land fasziniert uns schon seit langem. Wir freuen uns auf das pulsierende Leben in Tel Aviv und das multikulturelle Jerusalem. Auch wenn wir mit der „Amazing Grace“ weder das Galiläische Meer noch das Tote Meer befahren können, Ausflüge mit Bus, Mietwagen und unseren Bordfahrrädern sind bestimmt spannend genug.

Doch wie lautet die alte Controllerweisheit: „Und ist der Plan auch wohl gelungen, bestimmt verträgt er Änderungen“. Das wird auch hier nicht anders sein. Wir halten Euch auf dem Laufenden… .